#CLCinGreece – Reminiscing on the Good Times – Maria’s Experience

After an insane month of May, with finals just before the trip to Athens, putting the brakes on traveling and experiencing life in Greece is like a perfectly inelastic collision; I suddenly feel weighed down, though it’s only been two days since my arrival back in the United States.

However, the brief respite has given me time to think back on my favorite parts of the trip and reminisce, which is a good way for me to appreciate all we have done—I don’t know how we managed to fit so much in three weeks—and to begin the process of moving on to the rest of the summer.

cape-sounion.jpg

I’ll miss the beauty of Cape Sounion, the site of Poseidon’s temple which a few of us visited, and the beautiful view of the sea and the beach close below, along with the fantastic dinner we enjoyed at a little restaurant on the beach near the archaeological site.

 

 

Paisaje Bello

I’m sad to leave behind the incredible views from the islands, particularly Hydra. The winding roads led both up the mountainside and down to the beach, and with every turn there was something new to explore and dozens of stray cats to meet.

 

mars nightIt’s difficult to bid goodbye to Athens as a whole and its amazing restaurants, churches, sights, and museums. Standing at the top of Lykavittos Hill, the Acropolis, Mars Hill, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center, and A for Athens gave me a chance to see much of Athens from above, and walking through the streets of the Plaka allowed me to marvel at the size of Athens’ hills.

squadMostly, though, I’ll miss the people I’ve gotten closer to during these three weeks. After daily recons in the third floor apartment, I’d become accustomed to their presence in my every waking hour. I loved getting to know so much more about the people in the CLC and bonding over wanting Paul to run for office again. I will never forget how much this trip and these memories meant to me, and I will always be grateful to the CLC for giving me this unique opportunity.

Leave a Reply

